SILVERBACK SOCIAL SAYS: “Social Media: The Next Generation’s Dead End Job?”

This article was shared by our good friend Cristin Grogan, Director of Communications at Silverback Social, an amazing social media marketing company.  Please visit them at SilverbackSocial.com.

I used to work for a prestigious college in the Westchester area as Director of Digital and Social Media.  While there, I was often invited by the heads of student organizations and other clubs to talk about what a career in social looked like and how students could properly use it: sort of like Social Media 101.  It was great. Until Q+A time, when I heard the following, over and over:

“I’m studying political science, but there are no jobs, so I’m just going to do social media instead”

– OR –

“I’m studying biology, but it’s really difficult so I want to do social media instead. I do it everyday anyway and even manage my cousin’s pizzeria’s Facebook page.  What’s so hard about it?”

Really?  REALLY?

Therein lies my fear: social media is becoming the next generation’s dead end job.

Actually, it gets worse. It’s already happening… READ THE REST OF THE ARTICLE HERE

2 thoughts on “SILVERBACK SOCIAL SAYS: “Social Media: The Next Generation’s Dead End Job?”

  1. Thanks for the re-post, DAE! Hope you enjoyed 🙂

Leave a Reply

