My Initial Thoughts on Social Media (a.k.a. An Ode to Twitter)

Our marketing intern Megan is up at school in Boston in a social media class and will be posting regularly for her class on any social media-related topic. We wanted to share her first with you! (And if you have anything in mind that you’d like to read about regarding social media, let us know and we’ll pass it on to Megan!)

ISYS6621: Social Media and Digital Business

Social media appears to me as still an untapped resource, if you can believe it or not.

I had a friend ask me last night, “But what’s the point of Twitter? It’s just so boring!” I believe my response to her was, “Are you serious? There’s so much we don’t know yet!” How could she not understand the point of Twitter? How could it bore her? There’s so much about social media that still excites me and I don’t know if that means I’m caught up in hype or if I’m just doing things right. All I know is that I can’t imagine today’s world without social media. There’s a CollegeHumor video all about if movies had cell phones, insinuating that with cell phones, these popular movies would be way more different. I feel like I look at the recent past through a similar lens, except with social media. Where…

View original post 1,005 more words

Leave a Reply

